Shop Tom Bihn
1-800-729-9607
emailus@tombihn.com
Tom Bihn Forums: Community discussion on travel bags, laptop bags, and backpacks. Tom Bihn has been designing and making bags since 1972. The best materials and innovative construction.

Thread: Travel Laundry

Forum Member

Travel Laundry

So I looked around a bit, but what is everyone's recommendation for soap/detergent/etc. to put in a 3-1-1 bag? I have a Scrubba that I got for camping and am planning on bringing it along on my 3 week China tour, but I am unsure of what to bring regarding the cleaner, or anything in the 3-1-1 bag really. This is my first time doing carry-on only, even though no one else will be, so I'm a rookie when it comes to liquids and the like. Any advice would be much appreciated.
    Steel/Solar A45/French Blue BB/Navy Snake Charmer/Coyote DLBC/ Iberian TT

People often suggest multi-purpose soaps like Dr Bronner's. I've had good luck with the Travel Wash from Rick Steves. I have allergies to soap and perfume, but this product does not bother me.

Forum Member
    Are you going to stay into an international hotel chain or somewhere else?

If you have little soap bars found in big hotel chains, take a couple, you can use it to wash your laundry.

The most important is your toiletries, especially if you use special products. You can decant speciality products into 1 or 2oz Nalgene bottles or Go Toob, both are made of very strong plastic and leakproof lids.

Before you buy anything, check travel forums, ask people here who have been to China, this way you can find out what you need to bring and what is already available there.

This is the China subforum in the Flyertalk forum.

China - FlyerTalk Forums

Sea to Summit Wilderness Wash is pretty versatile and super-concentrated.
    ----
    Please bring back the Portable Culture patch!