Shop Tom Bihn
1-800-729-9607
emailus@tombihn.com
Tom Bihn Forums: Community discussion on travel bags, laptop bags, and backpacks. Tom Bihn has been designing and making bags since 1972. The best materials and innovative construction.

TOM BIHN Crew (we work here) Darcy's Avatar

What's in my First and Second Aid Kits

Disclaimer: I make no claims that I'm an expert in what one might pack in their First Aid Kit; these are the items I've gathered over the years after reading about other people's kits. Some of the items I've used, others I thankfully haven't had to.

What's in my First and Second Aid Kits-darcyfirstaidforum-jpg
    Band Aid selection has been updated a couple of times. Note the extra diphenhydramine: I've always made sure to carry this ever since Lily stuck her nose into a wasps nest in the ground on a hike. Her nose/mouth area was beginning to swell and the diphenhydramine I was able to give her helped prevent it from getting worse. (Before doing so, be sure to ask your veterinarian if it's okay to give your dog diphenhydramine and if so, what dosage they would need.) The tick key has also proved a useful tool.

What's in my First and Second Aid Kits-darcysecondaidforum1-jpg

Second Aid, hiking/outdoors edition. The hat and gloves take up a lot of room in the kit and I might want swap out one or the other for more food or hand warmers. I've given this stuff (as well as items from my own First Aid Kit) mostly to people I'm hiking with as opposed to strangers -- which, hey, is a good thing, as that means I haven't run into too many people in need of help so far. It's nice to know that I'd perhaps be able to help a bit if I did, though.

What's in my First and Second Aid Kits-darcysecondaidforum2-jpg