PDA

View Full Version : Pilot or Co-pilot?

BeeTee
08-08-2015, 03:02 PM
I have been travelling with an original Aeronaut plus an Empire Builder briefcase. I have not been carrying a laptop or a lot of work-related stuff when travelling, and while I love the amount of space the Empire Builder affords, it sometimes seems bulky to haul around, and it impinges on legroom when stowed under a seat on a plane. So I'm thinking about replacing it with something smaller--I'm looking at the Pilot or Co-pilot. I'd like to be able to stuff a jacket and some books in the bag, as well as ipad/phone/travel documents, etc. Any strong feelings about travelling with either of these (in tandem with the Aeronaut)? Does the difference in size between those bags translate into a meaningful difference in airline legroom or comfort carrying them while travelling? (I'm a six-foot male, if that matters.) Is one a better candidate than the other to double as a work-related briefcase (I'm a teacher), or should I expect to stick with the Empire Builder for that? Any insights are very welcome, thank you in advance.

Bijouxandbeads
08-08-2015, 10:06 PM
I have a Pilot and CoPilot, and my husband has a Pilot and an Empire Builder. The pilot and the CP are basically the same depth (5" vs 5.1"), so standing upright under seat takes the same amount of room. I highly recommend the Pilot for your circumstances. It is already much smaller than the EB (although highly efficient); compared to the EB the CP is TINY!

jujigatame
08-08-2015, 10:27 PM