PDA

View Full Version : Key Strap Length Advice

palomaloves
09-03-2016, 04:00 AM
Hello, hello all!

I'm new to the Tom Bihn community and have just bought a Synapse 19, 2 additional 8" key straps and 2 organizer wallets.

If possible, i'd like to keep my keys and organizer wallets clipped to my Synapse when I open my apartment/office doors and need to access the wallets in the grocery store, etc. (It seems like it would be a hassle to keep clipping and unclipping everything? But, I don't know? I like the idea that my keys and wallets will remain tethered to my backpack) Will the 8" key straps work well for this? Or, are these too short? Do I need to buy the 16" key straps? It also seems that if I buy the 16" key straps that these will be too long and make my EDC too much of a jumble?

Would LOVE any advice you might have.

Badger
09-03-2016, 05:14 AM
Welcome! I can't guarantee the 8" straps will be long enough but at least for me, they work for about 95% of what I do.

To access your keys/wallet most easily, I suggest you try clipping your wallet and keys into one of the side pockets. To access, swing the bag off one shoulder, and unzip the pocket.

To see what I mean check out these pics by GEOcycle: https://forums.tombihn.com/photos-videos-and-reviews/4800-synapse-continues-surprise.html#post37294

ETA: When I do use the longer keystraps I can't say I've had trouble with tangling.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

terayon
09-03-2016, 07:00 AM
I keep my keys in the left side pocket and access them the way Badger described. I prefer a 16" strap (in a contrasting colour to the interior) for this, which I never unclip. I have stuff in the pen slots plus a mini Q-kit in that pocket, and the strap doesn't get tangled.

sujo
09-03-2016, 09:27 AM
I use an 8-inch strap in my Side Effect and a 16-inch strap in my work bag (currently a grey/navy Large Café Bag). Here is what I like/dislike about both, based on using them in the bags I mentioned.

8-inch strap