PDA

View Full Version : I'm New to Bags--Please Help Me Make a Selection (what to purchase?)

Eevee
11-03-2017, 01:49 AM
Greetings, everyone

I'm hoping to make a bag purchase, but I do not know what model/construct of bag would be best for my intentions.

I am in need of a backpack, for the purpose of bringing home groceries and other like things (I do not require any laptop compartment).

The bag needn't be too roomy--if it can carry a six-pack, bread and some vegetables, I'm good!

I plan to walk with the bag, as opposed to biking with it, so it needs to be fairly durable.

I have done some perfunctory research. Per my understanding, 1050 nylon is preferable over 1680 as the former is twisted (doubled) and therefore resists tearing.
That said, I don't necessairy need a slash-resistant bag. My prime concern is it will pull apart under the stress of grocery toting. Nothing lasts forever, but I would like at
least a few good years out of it (reasonable?). I go to the store about trice weekly and my trek, one way, is about two miles. I suspect my cargo would be roughly ten/fifteen lbs or so.

I discovered Tom Bihn while Googling information about nylon (etc). I had, hitherto, been shopping the Nordstrom site for their offerings. Most of these didn't go into much depth in describing the construct of the products, describing their material as 'nylon'/'ballistic nylon', but not offering a grade of such. Additionaly, the Tumi bags offered there seem unsuited for my needs and the BR bags look cheap/Chinese.

Tom Bihn seems open about what goes into its products and confident in their quality, hence my presence here.

Im looking, presently, at 'The Guides Pack'. I like that the bag is, effectively, an abyss I can drop things into. However, it seems a mix of materials: Exterior and lining: 420d HT nylon Classic Parapack and Bottom: 1050 denier HT ballistic nylon... wouldn't the stronger of the two pull upon the other (think 'weakest link')?