PDA

View Full Version : Yet another bag advice thread (EDC/travel backpack for a short person)

defi
07-20-2015, 05:26 PM
Been lurking for the last few weeks but only recently got around to creating an account. Forgive me if this is in the wrong section!

I'm very new to Tom Bihn. I just got a Large Cafe Bag for days where I can get away with just bringing in lunch, a Kindle or book, a water bottle, and an umbrella to work, and for wandering around on weekends with just those items. I love it and want to get another bag, which has gotten me here.

I'm looking for a backpack that can serve as both my EDC and travel bag. I'm on the short side--5'3"--and would rather not look like a turtle with my bag on my back (my 10 year old LL Bean Turbo Transit already does this exceptionally well!). I also walk about 1.5 miles to work every day since I don't have a car. So far, the Synapse 25, Smart Alec, and Brain Bag have caught my eye.

My standard EDC:

iPad 3
Kindle
18 oz Hydro Flask
Ms. Bento lunch jar (since I couldn't find much mention of this in terms of how they fit upright in bags, here are the dimensions according to Amazon: 8.13 inches x 4.38 inches x 4.97 inches)
16 oz Zojirushi tea thermos
Umbrella or packable raincoat
Various bits and bobs
On days where I need extra caffeine, I add another 16 oz thermos for coffee to the mix.
A few thin notebooks and folders

Sometimes carried: Gym clothes/shoes, groceries

I also travel a bit by plane, train, and bus. I don't think I'd be considered an 'ultralight' traveller, but I managed to pack everything I needed into a rolling carry on and a messenger bag (which mostly housed my electronics: iPad and keyboard, Kindle, chargers and cables) on my most recent trips (both 1-2 weeks in length). I'd like to be able to replace the rolling bag with the backpack.