Welcome!

We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

TOM BIHN Forums Statistics

Collapse

Topics: 14,632   Posts: 188,975   Members: 6,617   Active Members: 303
margaretcetera
Forum Member
Welcome to our newest member, margaretcetera.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Initial thoughts on fit of Synpase 19 vs. Daylight Backpack for petite female

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Initial thoughts on fit of Synpase 19 vs. Daylight Backpack for petite female

My S19 (aka my soulmate bag) needed a friend, so I got a DLBP for the times when the S19 is a bit too much backpack (such as travel situations when I want to bring a packable day bag). Although I studied lots of DLBP photos, I didn't expect the DLBP to look quite so huge on me! I'm 5'2" and on the short-waisted side, and my S19 is a perfect fit. The extra inch or so of length on the DLBP keeps it from being a perfect fit on me because it extends past the small of my back. If I shorten the straps any further, they cut into my armpits. Also, as I expected, the DLBP takes more thought to load than my S19 because of the DIY back padding.

That said, I really like the DLBP! Once I adjusted everything and loaded it, it was surprisingly comfortable even with the additional length. A packing cube shoulder bag fits perfectly in the bottom, and I've found it makes a better swim/gym bag than my S19 because the slim profile makes it that much easier to toss into a locker. I suspect it's also easier to clean than an S19 if it happens to get stinky. I plan to use this as my weekend run bag to hold a change of clothes, jacket, snacks, etc. The DLBP should be handy on race days too.

In the end, the S19 will continue to be my EDC while the DLBP will be my weekend/travel backpack. Each bag has its own strengths, so there's room in my life for both of them.
    BooksAndYarn
    Forum Member