Welcome!

We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

TOM BIHN Forums Statistics

Collapse

Topics: 14,777   Posts: 190,682   Members: 6,662   Active Members: 270
Welcome to our newest member, lesleypelka.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do you use and pack your Side Kick?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do you use and pack your Side Kick?

I use mine for birding. I am VERY new to this activity.

I had tried to make the SE work, but it was just too small. I tried a PCSB with a camera insert to give it organization. It sort of works, but not quite.

I finally got the Side Kick last week. The most I packed into it:

1) Front pocket - empty.

2) Left pocket with O-Ring above - 2 spare camera batteries in a mini OP. I clipped the OP to the O-Ring hanging between the 2 pockets. Housekeys (3 keys + nail clipper on a split ring attached to a 16-inch key strap), clipped to the O-Ring above this pocket.

3) Right pocket - camera (Panasonic ZS60), no case.

4) Main compartment - pair of binoculars (Zeiss ED Terra 8x25) in a small TSS. 1 pair each of prescription eyeglasses and sunglasses in their cases.

5) Big back pocket - small DOP (carries coins + pen in front pocket; bills, etc.) clipped to the O-Ring on the far end of the pocket. COW (carries cards) clipped to the O-Ring located mid-way above the pocket.

I packed the pockets attached to the big back pocket with:
    1) Pen pockets on the left - empty; I carry a pen in the DOP from habit.

2) Middle Pocket - my phone (Samsung Galaxy Note 2) - perfec5 fit.

3) Right pocket - car key.

General Verdict:
    1) Like other TB bags, the SK swallows a LOT. The downside to this is that the bag gets heavy pretty quickly.

2) When I load the bag as described above, it is too heavy to carry on one shoulder.

My solution: