Main TOM BIHN website

emailus@tombihn.com

COMMUNITY FORUMS

Welcome! We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

x

First, select your desired search engine:

• Google Search
  • DuckDuckGo
  • Original Forum Search Engine

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I hate my bag, please help me replace it.

I've been looking at TB for quite a while now and need some help in choosing the right model. I'm an industrial field engineer with a responsibility area that covers all of North America. I'm on a minimum of 2 flights a week and have been carrying the ubiquitous Swiss Gear Ibex back pack as my carry-on for 2 years. For 2 years I have hated this bag. Too much useless space, low quality, and just plain ugly. With an upcoming trip to Seattle I am looking to upgrade. Here are the items I need to have in my carry-on:

-HEAVY 15" HP laptop (company provided...no options)
    -Spiral 5 subject notebook
    -Graph paper notebook
    -Job specific paperwork (usually 1-2 thick manila folders)
    -Noise cancelling headphones & case
    -Pens/pencils
    -Passport
    -Car keys, chargers, business cards, and other small odds and ends

I'm looking at messenger/ briefcase style bags and have been leaning towards the Empire Builder but would like to see if there are any other smaller or more efficient models you would recommend. I would like it to have an over the suitcase handle carry option and be TSA friendly. Thanks for helping out!

Volunteer Moderator
    SF Bay area
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The EB sounds like what you're looking for. The Zephyr was a small version that is disco'd but they come up on Ebay fairly regularly.

If you're intending to actually visit TB in Seattle, they're really cool about letting you bring in your actual stuff and test pack the bags.