Main TOM BIHN website

emailus@tombihn.com

COMMUNITY FORUMS

Welcome! We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

x

First, select your desired search engine:

• Google Search
  • DuckDuckGo
  • Original Forum Search Engine

User Tag List

Forum Member
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Poor thread quality?

Hello,

I am a newbie. I've heard a lot of good things about TB bags, so I ordered a few including a Maker's bag, Cadet and Pilot, and wants to choose one or two. Today, I checked the threads briefly (on the front sides only), and found these shown in the pictures. Are they start fraying already (these are all brand new), or are these normal? I didn't expect these in $130, $160 bags, or am I just too picky?

Poor thread quality?-img_2330-jpg Poor thread quality?-img_2331-jpg Poor thread quality?-img_2332-jpg

The first picture is from the cadet, and the other two are from the maker's bag. I am concerned about TB's quality.
    Last edited by gadgets; 08-09-2018 at 12:54 AM.

Forum Member
    Orlando, FL
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Poor sewing is extremely rare. Contact customer service. TB's customer service is fantastic. They will make things right for you.

Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree with BWeaves that TB will make this right. I have never noticed sloppy stitching on any of my bags or accessories, even on tags.

With that said - these just look to me mostly like finishing matters, not structural issues.

Top pic looks to me like strands of the fabric before the seam was bound - they probably just didnít get brushed out of the way and can be snipped off.

Middle pic looks like the end of the thread after that line of stitching was ended and locked off - you can see where there is a slightly thicker part of the line - also can be snipped off.