Main TOM BIHN website

emailus@tombihn.com

COMMUNITY FORUMS

Welcome! We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

x

First, select your desired search engine:

• Google Search
  • DuckDuckGo
  • Original Forum Search Engine

User Tag List

Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

A30, guidance please!

Hello all, I'm pretty new to the TB 'community'. My partner recently moved across the country and I'm hoping to be able to fly and visit him easily. For my most recent week long trip I packed in a non-TB (adidas) 24L duffle and pretty much maxed it out.. and my shoes didn't fit

I'm thinking the A30 is going to be the most functional as my main bag, and most versatile going forwards with potential travel to EU. I currently own a DLBP in Aubergine ballistic, Travel cubelet in aubergine, MCB sized Freudian slip, large dawn travel tray, wasabi deluxe spiff kit and small A30 laundry packing cube.

Basically I'm looking for advice on which material I should go for (I love the look of the black halcyon with wasabi, but think ballistic may be a better choice), opinions on colours, and packing accessories (side kick vs PCSB), etc.

Thanks!!

Forum Member
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check out this forum thread, and specifically @Pokilani 's great post comparing the two fabrics!

https://forums.tombihn.com/questions...s-halcyon.html

TL;DR: Ballistic has better structure, whereas halcyon is more floppy but weights substantially less (although halcyon's more flexible fabric makes it easier to overpack, possibly offsetting any weight savings if you tend to overstuff your bag). From personal experience with both, I'd recommend ballistic - the more rigid fabric just makes it more usable when trying to live out of it.

Forum Member
    New Zealand
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)