Main TOM BIHN website

emailus@tombihn.com

COMMUNITY FORUMS

Welcome! We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

x

First, select your desired search engine:

• Google Search
  • DuckDuckGo
  • Original Forum Search Engine

User Tag List

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Revamping the WF/TS

Warning: Long Post!

I have been traveling with either a TS or WF as my one-bag for around 10 years now. And I LOVE these bags. At the same time, I have some observations I’d like to offer on issues and potential improvements after a decade of near constant use. Now that I have some time due to the lockdown I finally typed them up.

As background, since 2013 I have lived abroad in a second-world region, traveling with the TS/WF to 20+ countries for both business and pleasure. I originally got the TS as a “jack of all trades” bag that could be both packed light for shorter trips and business travel, or packed heavier for longer trips (up to 1 month).

Having refined my packing strategy / loadout over the years, 18 months ago I downgraded to a WF (and sold my TS) and use it in the same capacities. All told, I’d guess I’ve lived out of these bags well over 6 months over the past decade. Beyond countless destinations in Europe, I have slept with a Tristar as my only bag in a yurt in Turkmenistan, used it while hiking in the Carpathians in Ukraine, and took a WF on a week-long trip through Iran. I’ve also taken them to meetings in financial capitals like Singapore and London. They have come through with flying colors with just a wipe down between trips to remove dust. I couldn’t be happier overall.

Here a few observations I’d like to offer as “food for thought” based on my own personal usage, which is one-bag traveling. I see some cool opportunities to make a few slight tweaks (e.g. Synapse->Synik) to further refine these for the next generation.