Main TOM BIHN website

emailus@tombihn.com

COMMUNITY FORUMS

Welcome! We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

x

First, select your desired search engine:

• Google Search
  • DuckDuckGo
  • Original Forum Search Engine

User Tag List

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Shadow Guide 33 preview

I would like to thank Tom Bihn for the opportunity to test out the new Shadow Guide 33. I choose black 525 ballistic over the URSA brown, which was a hard decision because both fabrics look great on the product page. Once it arrived and I opened the box, I was very impressed. It is a big pack no doubt, but for me it is the perfect size. (I am 6í 210 lbs.).

My main use for a bag this size is work and personal travel. I am an engineer, and typically travel multiple times throughout the year. Each trip is about 1 week, and I never check a bag. My current travel preference is a one bag setup in the Synik 30. By packing minimally, I can get everything I need into this pack.

Since I am not traveling right now, I did some test packing with the Shadow Guide to compare it to the Synik 30. My typical load for the Synik would be: 5 work shirts, 2 jeans, 5 + days of socks & underwear, sleeping attire, vanity kit, MacBook, tech kit, med kit, first aid kit, work planner, and other small EDC items. I use an A45 packing cube for most of the clothes, ghost whales for EDC, and a standard spiff kit for toiletries. With this load, the Synik is very full, and I always wished for just a little more room. I was curious to see how the Shadow Guide works in comparison.

I took everything out of the Synik, and quickly noticed I was going to have to shift packing strategies. The Shadow Guide main compartment is like one giant stuff sack. It opens wide, stays open, and is easy to load. Since it is a wide-open space, packing cubes and stuff sacks work well in many combinations.