Main TOM BIHN website

emailus@tombihn.com

COMMUNITY FORUMS

Welcome! We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

x

First, select your desired search engine:

• Google Search
  • Original Forum Search Engine

User Tag List

Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

traveling with a ukulele

I just bought a cheap $25 bright yellow soprano ukulele (21") at a music trade show a couple of weeks ago, and I am totally in love with this tiny thing. I've never played a ukulele before -- I'm a long-time amateur guitar player-- but it's a complete BLAST to play, and not hard to learn the chords. I'm currently working on "You belong to me" from The Jerk.

Anyway, we've booked summer flights for Ireland and Italy to meet up with my brother's family, and I'm thinking I should definitely bring the ukulele. I bet my young nieces will love playing it. I know a few of you are ukulele players... have you taken yours overseas just for the fun of it? I was thinking about strapping mine onto the outside bungie cords of the Smart Alec, wedging it into the Aeronaut 30 (it just fits if I unzip both end pockets), or sticking the neck through the outside handles of the Aeronaut. If it's strapped to the bag, does it count as a single bag? Aren't there special dispensations for bringing a musical instrument on a plane?

I wonder if I could get it on for free as a "therapy instrument" (like a therapy pet). Ha!
    Donít make something unless it is both necessary and useful; but if it is both necessary and useful, donít hesitate to make it beautiful. ó Shaker Philosophy

Forum Member
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)