Main TOM BIHN website

emailus@tombihn.com

COMMUNITY FORUMS

Welcome! We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

x

First, select your desired search engine:

• Google Search
  • DuckDuckGo
  • Original Forum Search Engine

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Forum Member
    The Carolinas
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Down jacket or shetland sweater for travel midlayer?

Living in the southern US, I have little experience with needing to dress with layers. However, in preparing for future travel, I'd like to have a mid-layer, and a jacket of some sort seems to be the norm. How would a down jacket compare to a shetland sweater? When I visited Europe last year, I typically wore a heavy sweater over a long-sleeved shirt, and it kept me warm enough, except in torrential downpours in Scotland, and obviously an insulated jacket wouldn't work well in that scenario, either. Which option do y'all prefer? Keep in mind, however, that my current question regards no particular destination; mostly urban travel but maybe some light camping/hiking...I mostly just want to be prepared.
    Last edited by ThomGault; 07-13-2018 at 06:08 AM.

Forum Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Depending on the temperatures I will encounter, I prefer to take 1-3 items:
    * 150 weight 1/4 zip merino sweater (fairly thin)
    * packable down jacket
    * lightweight rain shell

My down jackets are not DWR/dridown treated, so they can get wet. This necessitates a rain shell in cool, rainy weather to maintain warmth. If it's warmer, I'll take the 1/4 zip and rain jacket. If it's cooler, the down and rain jacket. Super cold - all three. I have prioritized items that are fairly light, but durable. I do not like to exceed ~6-7kg (14-15 pounds) when I pack.