Main TOM BIHN website

emailus@tombihn.com

COMMUNITY FORUMS

Welcome! We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

x

First, select your desired search engine:

• Google Search
  • DuckDuckGo
  • Original Forum Search Engine

User Tag List

Forum Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

A TB bag for pilots?

Hi all,

I am a private pilot and I'm thinking about using a TB bag for my flight bag. I typically carry two headsets, two iPads (reg and mini), emergency handheld radio, GPS receiver, spare batteries, fuel tester, cables, odds and ends. I wonder if either Synapse (19/25) or Brain Bag is up to the task. Or is there another TB bag which will work better? Unfortunately many dedicated bags sold as flight bags are of crummy construction and, because they are an aviation-related product, overpriced.

Thanks for any help.

Michael

Volunteer Moderator
    SF Bay area
    Mentioned
    183 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would think a Brain Bag or S25 would make the most sense, depending on the actual size of some of those items and whether they are 'just in case' or if you need to quickly access them. A Pilot (punny!) or Western Flier may also work - again, depending on sizes/depths....but I'd think that a backpack first style would probably be more useful unless you're sporting formal duds as a private pilot.

Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you have a picture of the size of your load (or an estimate of how much volume it occupies), then folks might be able to do a test pack for you and show how that carry would look in various bags.

(On a side note I enjoyed seeing this thread, since Tom Bihn's dad was a pilot and the reason for the little red plane on the logo! Surely there must be more pilots among the ranks of Bihnions, who can weigh in and talk about their favorite TB flight bag??)

Digital Nomad
    Mentioned