Main TOM BIHN website

emailus@tombihn.com

COMMUNITY FORUMS

Welcome! We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

x

First, select your desired search engine:

• Google Search
  • DuckDuckGo
  • Original Forum Search Engine

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

(Another) A30 vs. A45 Question

Hello,

This is my first post here although I have been visiting off and on for a few years. I have been eyeing an aeronaut for some time and realize it is finally time to replace my current bag (this discontinued Lands End bag: Review: Lands? End FlightWise Carry-On softsided bag). I don't love the dimensions (I find it too long and not thick enough for my packing purposes), the backpack and shoulder straps are uncomfortable, and I would like something with a bit better organization. Thanks to reading a few posts on the forum I think I can can get over the lack of a dedicated laptop compartment in the aeronaut and so now my last hang up is choosing between the A30 and A45.

I would like to know whether it would be possible to use the A30 as a "one bag" for 3-5 days of pleasure travel or travel with a suit in addition to serving as a suitcase for much longer trips supplemented by an additional personal item bag. Or, if I will need to use the A45 for my goals.

Some info about me: fairly big guy (6'1 and 230 or so), wear a size 44-46 suit, shirts are size l or xl, size 12 shoes (but tend to favor more easily packed minimalist shoes). I usually pack using a bundle method, however I have been starting to experiment with packing folders and cubes. Here is rough guess at what I would be packing in the bag itself:

"Leisure" 3-5 days:
    1x pants
    2-3x shirt with collar
    2-3x t-shirt
    1x running shorts
    3-5x underwear
    2-3x socks
    1x sweater
    toiletries