Main TOM BIHN website

emailus@tombihn.com

COMMUNITY FORUMS

Welcome! We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

x

First, select your desired search engine:

• Google Search
  • DuckDuckGo
  • Original Forum Search Engine

User Tag List

Forum Member
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Which bag for a photographer?

Hi

I'm a professional photographer who often travels to developing nations as part of my work.

Travelling with professional cameras is a challenge. One rule is never check them in.

At present I use a Red Oxx PR5. It's huge and very heavy when loaded. My cameras and electronic devices go in my Think Tank Shape Shifter.

The bag I am wanting to replace is the RO. This year I have 3 weeks in Vietnam and Cambodia, a week in Australia and then 3 weeks in India. I need to carry a CPAP machine which is about 10" x 10” x 7" when cased. Other than that, 3 pairs convertible travel trousers, 5 pairs underwear and socks, 6 t shirts, one pair shoes, wash kit, razor, a pair of swimming shorts and various sundry items.

I'm thinking either the larger Aeronaut or the TriStar. Probably ballistic but would consider the Halcyon option.

Plane, train, bus, tuktuk and taxi are the usual transport methods.

The bag will usually have to be checked as my cameras get the carry on slot.

Your help and advice appreciated as I can't decide!
    Last edited by Kiwimac99; 05-26-2017 at 11:58 PM. Reason: Spell check error

Forum Member
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think it will just depend on your actual loadout needs and just how much stuff you want to carry in the bag?

The TS will be better if you also will be using it for a Computer I think while the A45 is just bigger and more spacious overall.

I love my Shapeshifter too and find it the most capable and protective bag that I have tried all while making a huge gear load pretty easy to carry too!