Main TOM BIHN website

emailus@tombihn.com

COMMUNITY FORUMS

Welcome! We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

x

First, select your desired search engine:

• Google Search
  • DuckDuckGo
  • Original Forum Search Engine

User Tag List

Forum Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

12 inch Macbook & iPad 12.9 inch?

Hey everyone. I'm new to the Tom Bihn forums, so I apologize if my thread is in the wrong place (please gently correct me if it is!)

I'm a bag junkie and have bags form many different makers (TAD, Chrome, GoRuck, Peak Design, Patagonia, TUMI, etc.), but I'm looking for a new EDC Travel bag for 1/2 day trips. The Pilot caught my eye. My only concern is, for my work, I typically carry both the 12-inch Macbook AND a 12.9 inch iPad Pro.

A few questions for those who own the bag:

1. Will the bag accommodate both?
    2. What accessories/set-up would anyone suggest to best carry both pieces of gear?
    3. What other accessories do people recommend? Given that I swap bags fairly consistently based on what I'm doing, I typically dont use a lot of built in internal organization, instead favoring modular pouches like Magpul DAKA pouches to carry cords, tools, etc. Thoughts on which Tom Bihn items have helped with daily EDC carry?

I really appreciate all of the help, in advance. I'm going to be in Seattle in a few weeks, and am planning on going to HQ in person to make the purchase - I'm just trying to get my ducks in a row beforehand!

Volunteer Moderator
    Northern Virginia
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi @rootnewton!

Welcome to the forum!

The Pilot will accommodate both a 12" MacBook, as well as a 12.9" iPad Pro.

I sometimes carry the 12" MacBook and the 9.7" iPad Pro, each inside of a protective Cache, in the main compartment of the Pilot.