Main TOM BIHN website

emailus@tombihn.com

COMMUNITY FORUMS

Welcome! We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

x

First, select your desired search engine:

• Google Search
  • DuckDuckGo
  • Original Forum Search Engine

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Forum Member
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

A45 as checked luggage? Or something else? Or bad idea?

Hi!

I dug through the forums, but wasn't able to find specific info on this-- so redirect me to the correct place if there is a good thread on this already.

I fly a few times a year, and I pack light whenever I can. I have been using an Aeronaut 30 (halcyon), that I love. However, I'm an artist, and sometimes I have to bring a bunch of other art things-- meaning, I need to check a bag. I'm also not a big person, and often travel alone, so I'd rather not be lugging a giant bag around the airport (hence, checking the bag). I just got a Smart Alec, so I was thinking I would pack most of my stuff in the checked bag, and bring some essentials in the SA as my personal item/carry on.

I was considering buying a larger bag to be my checked bag, specifically the Aeronaut 45. I was thinking the ballistic would be tough enough, even if the bag got a little dirty.

I realize the point in the bag sizes is that they can act as a carry on, but sometimes I get forced into checking a bag (I'm often in a later boarding zone, less expensive ticket, and so on). The few times I've needed to bring an additional bag to be checked, I've used an inexpensive bag with wheels, but it's getting pretty beat up.

Advice? Does anyone out there check their Aeronaut 45? Is there a different bag that would make more sense for this?

(I'm only ever traveling within the USA)

Volunteer Moderator Alumni Ilkyway's Avatar
    GMT +1 Germany, North
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)