Main TOM BIHN website

emailus@tombihn.com

COMMUNITY FORUMS

Welcome! We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

x

First, select your desired search engine:

• Google Search
  • DuckDuckGo
  • Original Forum Search Engine

User Tag List

Forum Member
    Florida, US
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Can't decide between Pilot or Copilot for airplane personal item

I'm new to the Tom Bihn brand, but have heard a lot of good things. I am looking for an over the shoulder bag to use as a personal item on flights. My carry-on bag is a backpack, so I wanted something that I could sling over the shoulder after putting on the backpack. I do have a messenger bag already (Timbuk2), but it's a bit heavy and large to use as a secondary bag.

The co-pilot initially had caught my eye due to it's organizational features and footprint. But after watching some reviews of the bag and looking at the bag dimensions again, the pilot showed up on my radar. I generally like some breathing room in my bags, so I'd rather it not be stuffed to the max. This makes me think that the pilot might be a better option. However, I don't want to look like I'm a pack-mule with two bags strapped to me, so I'm not sure how the pilot would look on me. For reference I'm a 5'5 female.

I figured the easiest way to decide this would be to ask people who already own the bags for advice. Here is my usual packing list:

Nintendo Switch in hard case
    Nintendo 3ds in hard case
    8in Kindle fire tablet in case (about the size of a paperback in the case)
    Kindle Paperwhite e-reader
    Charging cables for the paperwhite and tablet
    Portable battery pack (RAVPower 26800 PD)
    Bose QC 35 headphones in case
    Inflatable neck pillow
    Bottle of water (whatever overpriced option they have at the terminal kiosks)
    Samsung S8 cell phone
    Small travel wallet
    Sunglasses
    Snacks (usually kind bars)