Main TOM BIHN website

emailus@tombihn.com

COMMUNITY FORUMS

Welcome! We're glad you are here. This is the place to ask for bag advice, help other people out, post reviews, and share photos and videos.

x

First, select your desired search engine:

• Google Search
  • DuckDuckGo
  • Original Forum Search Engine

User Tag List

Northern Maine, U.S.A.
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

A Writer's Bag and a Parent's Bag

Hi all,

First-time forum poster. Long-time fan of TB.

I'm searching for a potential solution. I am a writer and a dad (two girls, 9 and 6). We live out in the sticks, so going shopping in our local town is always an ordeal. I need to pack snacks and at least one water bottle, and I usually try to have my travel "writer's kit" with me (usually: a 5x8 notepad, some pens, sometimes an iPad with travel keyboard).

I've tried:
    • the Brain Bag, but it is too big. And, after carrying it for a week at Disney, I don't care for taking it on and off every time I need to get something.
    • a Maker's Bag, but the flap closure is too much for me. I need one-handed access to things, especially if I'm walking around.
    • a Side Kick. Flat out too small. It's great for just my writer's kit, but I find I don't have the room for snacks, sunscreen, and other random kid things I end up carrying.

I'm looking at either a Parent Unit (with some additional organization pouches), or a Pilot.

Do any of you have recommendations?

Thanks!

Volunteer Moderator
    SF Bay area
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You might want to consider the 10L Co-Pilot as well vs the 13L Pilot...same basic layout and accessibility. The Daylight Briefcase is also a good choice, but doesn't have the separate water bottle pocket.
    Hopefully you know that TB has a good return policy so you can order & test pack to see what will work and return the ones that don't... see the FAQ for the details/requirements... https://www.tombihn.com/pages/contact-us/#faq38

Good luck and let us know what you get!